Direct link Share on

The task force was announced by the Government of Ukraine on 29 March 2022.

The task force is comprised of some of the world’s leading international human rights lawyers: Tim Otty QC, Baroness Helena Kennedy QC, Richard Hermer QC, Amal Clooney, Philippa Webb, and Lord Neuberger, the former President of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.

The task force will also include legal experts from U.S. firm Covington & Burling LLP, led by Nikhil Gore, the French firm Sygna Partners, led by Luke Vidal, as well as the Withers firm, led by Emma Lindsay. Each of these firms is already representing Ukraine, including at the International Court of Justice. It will be supported by leading academics in the field of international humanitarian law including Professor Marko Milanovic (University of Nottingham) and Professor Andrew Clapham (Graduate Institute, Geneva) as well as the Centre for International Governance and Dispute Resolution at King’s College London, the Clooney Foundation for Justice and the International Bar Association’s Human Rights Institute

All members of the task force will provide pro bono support to Ukraine to deliver justice for victims of international crimes committed by Russia in Ukraine.

The full announcement by the Government of Ukraine can be found here, and an English translation here.

+44 (0)207 5831770